Province to help Peace flooding victims

first_imgLocal governments may even be eligible to apply for the assistance. The Province says the local governments that will be considered for DFA are:The City of Dawson CreekThe City of Fort. St. JohnThe District of ChetwyndThe District of TaylorThe District of Tumbler RidgeHudson’s HopeElectoral Area B – on an east/west line south from Pink MountainElectoral Areas C, D and EDFA application forms, guidelines and more information about the program are available at or by calling 1 888 257-4777. The deadline for submitting DFA applications is  Wednesday, Sept. 28, 2011. The provincial government is ready to start the flow of disaster relief funds to communities in the Northeast after a large rainfall event caused flooding in some areas.Areas around the Peace River Region were hit with upwards of 160 millimetres of rain that washed out roads and flooded several homes and businesses.- Advertisement -The Province says financial assistance will be made available for eligible homeowners, residential tenants, farms, small businesses and charitable organizations.The Disaster Financial Assistance program will cover 80 per cent of claims between $1,000 and $300,000.Communities all across the Peace suffered at least some flood damage, but some of the hardest hit areas were in and around Chetwynd. The District had to deal with overflowing creeks and some road washouts.Peace River Regional District officials had said that flooding was so bad in some areas, that approximately nine families west of Chetwynd near Highway 97 that were completely cut off for several days until road access was restored.Advertisementlast_img read more